2015 Race Report 10k

CCW Linlithgow 10k Race Report

The historic and picturesque route of the CCW Linlithgow 10k attracted athletes from far and wide to compete in the 23rd edition of the event. More than half the entrants in the field of 589 came from outside West Lothian, with representation from as far afield as Leeds, Manchester, Surrey and Belfast.

The weather on the day was perfect for running, being slightly overcast but dry and slightly cooler than the previous few days and with a strong field on place it promised to be a good race.

Excitement built in the town as runners and spectators gathered at The Cross, entertained by Radio Grapevine before the pre-race brief was delivered from the steps at the Burgh Halls. The decibel level was then lowered and the runners donned their race-faces as they were led down the High Street where Race Starter, Jim Carlin, Provost of the Deacons Court was waiting eagerly, with klaxon in hand.

Once the race got underway it was not long before the three main challengers pulled away from the rest, with Paul Sorrie, attempting to lengthen the seven year stranglehold he had to the event, in that lead bunch. However, with Paul hampered slightly through a back injury he was unable to keep pace with Alastair Hay and Patryk Gierjatowicz who were edging ahead by 2km.

Alastair began to show his class, and his competitors a clean pair of heels, as they rounded the loch and had built a 25 second lead by the 6km mark. Being a Linlithgow resident, this was him running in in his own back yard along routes he has covered many times. He knew when to push and make the decisive blow.

There was much fervour around the finish area as the crowds awaited the return of the runners, anticipating a fast time. Alastair did not disappoint, crashing through the finishing tape in a time of 31:32 – the quickest since 2006. Patryk held on to second place, crossing the line at 32:15. A gutsy performance in the circumstances from Paul Sorrie placed him third at 32:57.

The woman’s race was dominated by ladies running in the masters category, with Karen Kennedy taking the main prize with her time of 40:19. In second place, representing the organisers, Linlithgow Athletic Club, was Lynne McGill, times at 41:23. Christine MacVarish completed the podium being clocked at 41:30.

The event is staged by Linlithgow Athletic Club and is the culmination of months of hard work by a small team of dedicated club members. On race day however, there are around one hundred volunteers from the community. The club wishes to thank everyone involved for their efforts as it could not hold the races without their support.

Full results for the 10k can be found at http://www.stuweb.co.uk/race/14z/

Graeme Lawson

Race Director, Linlithgow 10k