Weekly report - ending 15 December

posted 15 Dec 2014, 16:14 by Johan Meintjies   [ updated 17 Dec 2014, 15:18 ]

Nine Linlithgow athletes were among the 323 finishers at a very cold and icy Edinburgh parkrun on Saturday. Conditions were far from ideal for running given the sub-zero temperatures overnight but the club members gathered to celebrate the 50th parkuns of three of their number, Alison and David Marshall and Charlotte Fortune who is due to head off to warmer climes. The run had originally been planned for Falkirk but due to a fallen tree in Callendar Park, which resulted in the cancellation of the Falkirk event, alternative plans were made. The promenade was extremely icy, with many runners resorting to running on the grass so times were much slower than usual. In addition to Alison, David and Charly the other runners were Scott Hyslop, Gerry McArdle, Darren Dick, Ian Campbell, Felicity Harrison and Jill Horsburgh. Their determination was rewarded by chocolate truffles courtesy of Tip Top Cakes.

Further celebrations followed on Saturday evening as the club gathered for their Christmas dinner and annual prize giving. A range of awards was presented which reflected different achievements and contributions to the club.  The monthly handicap overall trophy was closely fought with Louisa Cockburn and Darren Dick taking the female and male prizes, respectively. The club championship awards were based on performance in a cross section of races throughout the year, with both a scratch and handicap award. Among the female runners Hilary Stocks and Jennifer Newton were first and second in both competitions. Third places were won by Jill Horsburgh, in the scratch competition and Alison Marshall in the handicap. Honours in the men’s competition were spread more widely, with the first three places in the scratch competition going to John Redding, David Marshall and John Smith. In the handicap event medals went to Gerry McArdle, Scott Hyslop and Kenny Leamy.

The final awards of the night were the Athlete of the Year, recognising enthusiasm and achievement and the President’s Award which recognises contributions to the club. Scott Hyslop was a popular winner of the Athlete of the Year, reflecting his continual improvement, diversity of challenges and his encouragement of others. The President’s Award was deservedly won by Graeme Lawson who took on the role of race director for the Linlithgow 10k, whilst also being part of the Falkirk parkrun core team, Communications Officer for the club and Commonwealth Games volunteer.

Despite the celebrations on Saturday, Darren Dick was up bright and early to run the second of the Frostbite Trail series in Fife. Running in the Falkland Estate competitors encountered rivers swollen with snow melt from the Lomond Hills, fallen trees and muddy descents. Darren finished 40th from a field of 179 and has a further two races to go over the winter.

Club members are now looking forward to some friendly inter club rivalry at the popular Boxing day Handicap organised by Lothian Running Club at Beecraigs, and to the resumption of the cross country season in early January.