Weekly report (ending 2nd February 2014)

posted 9 Feb 2014, 05:21 by Graeme Lawson

The first John Muir Winter Carnival was held at Foxlake, near Dunbar, on Sunday 2nd February.  The event has been introduced to showcase the many sports that are available in the area, with a couple of cross country races taking centre stage; one on two feet and one on two wheels!

Representing Linlithgow Athletic Club were David Mason and Ian Logan who both chose to take on the cross country running event. To add to the carnival atmosphere the organisers had chosen to unleash a fox (a man dressed in a fox outfit) to lead the way with the recorded sounds of barking dogs following behind! The 143 runners would set on a course that would take them across muddy fields before skirting the coast and then through pine forests across mud flats onto the beach. Sand dunes, more woods and open fields would need to be negotiated before the finish.

A good run from Ian secured him 7th place in the 14k event, with David placed 25th.

It turned out that one race was not enough to satiate David’s racing appetite – the free porridge having addressed other appetite issues - and he chose to take on the cyclocross event as well. Stamina, or perhaps that free porridge, shone through as he finished 42nd in the two wheeled option.

Linlithgow AC fielded a single boys team at the Under 12 Superteams indoor athletics event at the Emirates Commonwealth Arena. The team of Eoin Richardson, Sam Jones, Andrew McGill and Keenan Galloway finished 31st out of 48 teams from across Scotland.

The team produced some exceptional individual performances, the first of them by Keenan Galloway who ran an excellent 60m (9.71seconds) to win his heat. The best performance on the day was by Sam Jones who achieved the longest jump (3.01m) and biggest throw (5.25m)

Finally, the parkrun round-up for Saturday. Frances Wood and Darren Dick opted for Edinburgh parkrun, finishing together in positions 122 and 123 out of 474 runners. Whilst it turned out to be a case of ‘ladies first’ both runners were recorded with a time of 21:10. LAC results amongst a field of 234 at Falkirk parkrun: 2nd Andrew Fischbacher (17:46); 4th Colin McCluskie (18:45); 12th Scott Hyslop (20:32); 17th Malcolm Hughes (21:09); 25th Gerry McCardle (21:32); 161st Shirley Hyslop (30:11)